NorCal Racing

Kyle Larson fastest in first Cup practice for Brickyard 400 – NASCAR Talk

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page


Kyle Larson posted the top speed in Saturday’s first Cup Series practice session for the Brickyard 400.

Larson led the session with a speed of 185.025 mph around Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Kurt Busch completed a Chip Ganassi Racing sweep of the top-two spots with a speed of 184.763 mph.

The top five was rounded out by defending race winner Brad Keselowski (184.600 mph), Chase Elliott (184.305) and Bubba Wallace (183.685).

Elliott and teammate William Byron recorded the most laps in the session with 22 each.

There were no incidents in the session.

Click here for the practice report.

Paul Menard posted the top speed in the final practice session for Sunday’s Brickyard 400 (2 p.m. ET on NBC).

Menard, who won the race in 2011, recorded a speed of 185.079 mph.

The top five was completed by Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (184.151 mph), Erik Jones (183.550), Chris Buescher (183.385) and Matt DiBenedetto (183.050).

The most laps in the session were recorded by Jimmie Johnson with 35.

Kurt Busch had the best 10-lap average at 181.327 mph.

The red flag had just came out to end the session when Denny Hamlin wrecked in Turn 4.

Hamlin’s No. 11 Toyota hit the outside wall after a tire went down. Hamlin was able to get out of the car under his own power. He will go to a backup car and start at the rear tomorrow.

Click here for the practice report.


INDIANAPOLIS – Denny Hamlin walked away from his car after it crashed at the end of final Cup practice Saturday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Hamlin’s car smacked the wall in Turn 4 and came down toward the entrance of pit road with the back of the vehicle on fire. Hamlin climbed from the car.

Hamlin will go to the rear for Sunday’s Brickyard 400 because he is going to a backup car. Cup qualifying will be at 10:35 a.m. ET Sunday. The Cup race is at 2 p.m. on NBC.


Kyle Busch will start first in today’s Xfinity Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (3 p.m. ET on NBCSN).

Busch won the pole for the Indiana 250 with a speed of 168.397 mph. It is his second Xfinity pole of the year. Busch has had the pole in five of his seven Xfinity starts at IMS.

Busch led a Joe Gibbs Racing sweep of the top three positions with Brandon Jones (168.083 mph) and Christopher Bell (167.317).

The top five is completed by Tyler Reddick and John Hunter Nemechek.

The red flag was briefly displayed early in the session after Kyle Weatherman‘s engine expired as he took the checkered flag on his qualifying run.

Click here for the starting lineup.


Defending race winner Justin Allgaier returns to Indianapolis Motor Speedway still seeking his first victory of the season after winning five times last year. Cole Custer and Christopher Bell each seek their first win at Indy and seventh of the season.

The field also includes Cup regulars Kyle Busch and Austin Dillon.

Here’s all the info you need for today’s race.

(All times are Eastern)

START: The command to start engines will be given at 3:07 p.m. The green flag is scheduled to wave at 3:19 p.m.

PRERACE: Garage opens at 8 a.m. Qualifying is at 12:05 p.m. Driver/crew chief meeting is at 1:05 p.m. Driver introductions are at 2:30 p.m. The invocation will be given by Mark Wright at 3 p.m. The National Anthem will be performed at 3:01p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 100 laps (250 miles) around the 2.5-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 30. Stage 2 ends on Lap 60.

TV/RADIO: NBCSN will televise the race. Coverage begins at 2:30 p.m. with Countdown to Green. Performance Racing Network broadcast begins at 2:30 p.m and also can be heard on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry PRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: forecasts partly cloudy skies with a high of 75 degrees and a zero percent chance of rain at the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Justin Allgaier led 41 of 100 laps to win. Tyler Reddick was second. Ryan Blaney placed third.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for the starting lineup.

Source link

You must be logged in to post a comment Login